Our Team

Established in 2017 by Cornell University and Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute. GLASE is supported by the New York State Energy Research and Development Authority (NYSERDA) and by industry partners. See below for a listing of team members and researchers.


A. J. Both, Ph.D.

Professor, Rutgers University

Elsebeth Kolmos, Ph.D.

GLASE Principal Investigator, Researcher, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute

Justin Heavey

Extension Support Specialist

Kale Harbick, Ph.D.

Research Agricultural Engineer, USDA-ARS

Michael Eaton

Graduate Student, Cornell University

Neil Mattson, Ph.D.

GLASE Principal Investigator, Associate Professor, Cornell University

Rick Neal

Researcher, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute

Robert Karlicek, Ph.D.

Professor, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute

Timothy Shelford, Ph.D.

Research Associate, Cornell University


Arunas Tuzikas, Ph.D.

Research Associate, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute

Christopher P. Levine

Masters Student, Cornell University

Dylan Kovach

Masters Student, Cornell University

Erica Hernandez

Masters Student, Cornell University

Erico Mattos, Ph.D.

Executive Director, GLASE

Haley Holley

Director of Operations, GLASE

Jack Wellhofer

Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute

Jonathan Allred

Ph.D. Student, Cornell University

Leah Scott, MBA

Marketing and Outreach Manager, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute

Louis Albright

Professor Emeritus, Cornell University, GLASE Co-Principal Investigator

Masaki Kurosaki

Masters Student, Cornell University

Matthew Goldman

Plant Technician, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute

Matthew Moghaddam

Technician, Cornell University

Matthew Urschel, Ph.D.

Post Doctoral Research Associate, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute

Tessa Pocock, Ph.D.

Senior Research Scientist, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, GLASE Principal Investigator


Bruce Bugbee, Ph.D.

Professor, Utah State University

Chieri Kubota, Ph.D.

Professor, Ohio State University